Author Topic: BF2 error  (Read 256 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Status: Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • Gender: Male
  • Activity: 10%
    • View Profile
BF2 error
« on: January 21, 2018, 14:23:54 PM »
Hi all
I have installed BF2 on a new win10 laptop, patched up to 1.5 etc but the game wont launch, it crashes to desktop and I get this error,
Any ideas? Thx
---------------------------
BF2 Error
---------------------------
Debug assertion failed!

Version: 1.5.3153-802.0 Build date:2018-1-21 13:45
Module: RendDX9
File: C:\dice\Projects\BF2Branches\Patch_1_50\Code\BF2\RendDX9\VideoOptions.cpp
Line: 234

Text: Unknown DynamicOption value 800x600

Current confile:

---------------------------
Cancel   Try Again   Continue   
---------------------------

  • *
  • *
  • Status: Online
  • Date Tagged: Apr 2010
  • Posts: 2175
  • Gender: Male
  • Activity: 30%
    • View Profile
Re: BF2 error
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2018, 18:42:16 PM »
i got same problem few days ago ,
http://nrns-games.com/index.php?topic=12475.msg91539#msg91539
you can find the link for help here by Sirguy

Installation:

Using the old Revive installer (still working after Revive shutdown):
Screenshots
  • Download the BF2 Revive installer (additional mirrors and information here).
  • Extract Release.zip then run Setup.exe.
  • Choose an install location then click Install.
  • At the 'Completing the BattleField 2 - Battlelog.co Setup Wizard' screen ensure that the 'Enter license key' and 'Update PunkBuster now' options are checked then click Finish.
  • In the 'Battlefield 2 :: Key Manager' window enter your BF2 key or click 'Random'. Afterwards click 'Apply' then 'Close'.
  • Wait for PunkBuster to update. When you see the 'Finished with update.' messagebox click 'OK' and the install is complete.
  • See the Launcher Options section below to enable online play.

An alternate method:
(click to show/hide)







  • Newbie
  • *
  • Status: Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • Gender: Male
  • Activity: 10%
    • View Profile
Re: BF2 error
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2018, 22:37:29 PM »
Thanks, I think I tried this already but downloading and reinstalling again now, I'll post what happens!!

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Status: Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • Gender: Male
  • Activity: 10%
    • View Profile
Re: BF2 error
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2018, 23:11:05 PM »
 :-[ :-[
Still the same crash to desktop

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Status: Offline
  • Posts: 632
  • Gender: Male
  • Activity: 6.67%
    • View Profile
Re: BF2 error
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2018, 23:28:49 PM »
right click on desktop and see your graphic resolution,display settings...(mine is 1920x1080)
now go to C drive,my documents,bf2,profiles,001,and set the same graphic that u have on desktop on display settings

...that was the problem at my bf2 when it crashed down to desktop(black screen)..worth to check out,nothing to loose..maybe that is the problem

https://s5.postimg.org/celd6qhuv/2018.01.22-00.43.png
BF2 error
« Last Edit: January 21, 2018, 23:46:46 PM by lalibaba »

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Status: Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • Gender: Male
  • Activity: 10%
    • View Profile
Re: BF2 error
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2018, 11:10:49 AM »
Thanks Lali Iíll try that when I get home  :)

  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Status: Offline
  • Posts: 917
  • Activity: 63.33%
    • View Profile
Re: BF2 error
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2018, 13:42:15 PM »
"RendDX9\VideoOptions.cpp"

Looks like some a graphics related error. If lali's suggestion about resolution doesn't fix it (also try completely recreating the profile) maybe take a look at your graphics drivers and directx (I think Windows 10 had issues with DirectX9 games, I'm not sure if that's been fixed or if I'm remembering something else, maybe worth looking into until you can rule it out).
I am very open to suggestion. If you see an error or room for improvement or just have a comment or query please get in touch with me via forum PM, email, or Discord.

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Status: Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • Gender: Male
  • Activity: 10%
    • View Profile
Re: BF2 error
« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2018, 22:54:49 PM »
I have  tried everything I could find or think of over the last couple of days with no luck.
10 minutes ago I went into graphics card settings and added 800x600 as a custom resolution...it launched at last but in that res it looks crap!!
Changed settings in game to 1920x1080 and its looking good, will try it tomorrow  :D
Now I need to remember how to skip intro etc!
Thanks for the help
« Last Edit: January 24, 2018, 22:57:37 PM by Jaxxx »

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Status: Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • Gender: Male
  • Activity: 3.33%
  • When nothing goes right --> go left
    • View Profile
Re: BF2 error
« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2018, 13:45:53 PM »
U can delete intro files also manually on directly game folder, if I remember right. Aaah boe the time when bf2 demo was lit  :D Also missing so much NRNS bf2 time :(
Hopefully we can get it back someday :)
-Forget the rules and play from your heart.!

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Status: Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Activity: 6.67%
    • View Profile
Re: BF2 error
« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2018, 22:26:14 PM »
  :o    8) 

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Status: Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • Gender: Male
  • Activity: 10%
    • View Profile
Re: BF2 error
« Reply #10 on: February 03, 2018, 11:28:13 AM »
U can delete intro files also manually on directly game folder, if I remember right. Aaah boe the time when bf2 demo was lit  :D Also missing so much NRNS bf2 time :(
Hopefully we can get it back someday :)

Done! Thanks

  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Status: Offline
  • Posts: 917
  • Activity: 63.33%
    • View Profile
Re: BF2 error
« Reply #11 on: February 03, 2018, 22:25:47 PM »
IIRC you can also add the restart flag to your BF2 shortcut then it'll skip right to the login screen. Add your login information to the shortcut too and it'll skip to main menu.
I am very open to suggestion. If you see an error or room for improvement or just have a comment or query please get in touch with me via forum PM, email, or Discord.

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Status: Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • Gender: Male
  • Activity: 10%
    • View Profile
Re: BF2 error
« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2018, 22:29:09 PM »
Cheers  :)

 

Connections

Contact

Navigation

Pages

Online Gaming